Exercise: gestural drawing

I really liked the freedom of not having to get it perfect with this – I like to draw instinctively and quickly as it takes my out of the trap of being too perfect and exact which is how I am used to drawing normally. I decided to use the brush like tip of water colour markers to also get me away from ink pen or pencil which also keeps me quite exact given how I am accustomed to using them:

Above left: vase of tulips. This approach works well with organic things as they are anyway not too straight edged or exact and by trying to just flow with approximate lines I find this has given more movement to the flowers than if I were to take more time to get it exact.

Above right: one side of my living room from sitting on the chair across from it. Knowing I had to be gestural and quick, it actually made me look back at the overall positioning of things first so I could fit into the frame what I wanted and with approximately correct proportions and this worked well. I also think that using different colours helps distinguish and bring brightness rather than mono colour so I keep going with this.

Above left: looking out my kitchen window to the very squinty garden I have – made even more squinty by my gestural drawing! Because the window is high up it has a strange depth and length to it I was trying to capture really quickly and the garden really is very long and narrow so this was quite a nice scene to capture in such a rugged way.

Above right: fireplace in living from the previously drawn pink armchair above. I tried a more direct straight angle and worked to capture the main feature of the fireplace and fire part. The small amount of depth created by the bottom marble setting of the fireplace I think help makes it clearer what it is. The curvy walls are quite incorrect but give a funny sense of some kind of Roald Dahl character’s house.

Leave a comment